Chican@ Latin@ Studies Professors

Director

Rubén Medina

Position title: Professor, Spanish & Portuguese and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: rmedina@wisc.edu

Rubén Medina is a poet, translator, and scholar. He is also one of the founders of Infrarealism. His research and teaching center on Mexican and US Latinx literature and culture, continental connections, countercultural formations and practices, film studies, Neo-avant-garde poetic movements, and Mexican migration to the United States. In the area of research, he has published: Autor, autoridad y autorización: Escritura y poética de Octavio Paz (Colegio de México, 1999), Genealogías del presente y del pasado: Literatura y cine meXicanos (Lima-Berkeley, 2010), and articles in journals and books on masculinity, violence, hybridity, global melodrama, Chicana literature, and Infrarealism. In poetry he has published, Báilame este viento, Mariana (1980), “Amor de Lejos . . . Fools’ Love” (1986), four editions of Nomadic Nation / Nación nómada (2010, 2011, 2015, 2017), and Aquel Quetzalcoatl se fue pal’ norte (2018). He has received the National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in poetry (1981), and other poetry awards. His poems have been included in poetry anthologies in Mexico, Latin American, Spain, and the US. In collaboration with John Burns, he published a major anthology of Beat poetry translated into Spanish, Una tribu de salvajes improvisando a las puertas del infierno (Mexico: Aldvs, 2012). He recently edited a critical edition of Mario Santiago Papasquiaro’s long poem, Consejos de 1 discípulo de Marx a 1 fanático de Heidegger (2016), and Perros habitados por las voces del desierto: poesía infrarrealista entre dos siglos (an anthology published in Mexico, Peru and Chile).  For more information, see his website.

Faculty

Theresa Delgadillo

Position title: Professor, English and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: tdelgadillo@wisc.edu

Falina Enriquez

Position title: Assistant Professor,  Anthropology

Email: fenriquez2@wisc.edu

Alberta M. Gloria

Position title: Professor, Counseling Psychology

Email: amgloria@wisc.edu

Mary Louise Gomez

Position title: Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

Email: mlgomez@wisc.edu

Paola Hernandez

Position title: Professor, Spanish & Portuguese

Email: pshernandez@wisc.edu

Armando Ibarra

Position title: Associate Professor, School for Workers, UW-Madison

Email: aibarra@wisc.edu

Phone: 608 262-9545

Kathryn Kirchgasler

Position title: Assistant Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

Email: katie.kirchgasler@wisc.edu

Edna Ledesma

Position title: Assistant Professor, Planning & Landscape Architecture

Email: eledesma@wisc.edu

Michael Light

Position title: Associate Professor, Sociology and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: mlight@ssc.wisc.edu

Lori Lopez

Position title: Associate Professor, Communication Arts

Email: lklopez@wisc.edu

Benjamin Marquez

Position title: Professor, Political Science

Email: bmarquez@wisc.edu

Sara McKinnon

Position title: Associate Professor, Communication Arts

Email: smckinnon@wisc.edu

Almita Miranda

Position title: Assistant Professor, Geography and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: aamiranda@wisc.edu

Alfonso Morales

Position title: Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, Planning & Landscape Architecture

Email: morales1@wisc.edu

Mariana Pacheco

Position title: Associate Professor,  Curriculum & Instruction

Email: mariana.pacheco@wisc.edu

Steve Quintana

Position title: Professor, Counseling Psychology

Email: stephen.quintana@wisc.edu

Marla Ramírez

Position title: Assistant Professor, History and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: ramireztahua@wisc.edu

Sarah Rios

Position title: Assistant Professor, Community and Environmental Sociology

Email: smrios@wisc.edu

Diana Rodríguez-Gómez

Position title: Assistant Professor, Educational Policy Studies

Email: drodriguezgo@wisc.edu

Diego Román

Position title: Assistant Professor, Curriculum and Instruction

Email: diego.roman@wisc.edu

Carolina Sarmiento

Position title: Assistant Professor, Civil Society & Community Studies, School of Human Ecology

Email: carolina.sarmiento@wisc.edu

Revel Sims

Position title: Assistant Professor, Planning and Landscape Architecture and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: revel.sims@wisc.edu

Kate Vieira

Position title: Professor,  Curriculum and Instruction, Susan J. Cellmer Distinguished Chair in Literacy

Email: kevieira@wisc.edu

Juan E. Zalapa

Position title: Associate Professor,  Horticulture

Email: jezalapa@wisc.edu

Instructors

Megan Bailon

Position title: Lecturer-SA

Email: bailon@wisc.edu

Erin Barbato

Position title: Clinical Associate Professor of Law. Director, Immigrant Justice Clinic

Email: ekmurphy@wisc.edu

Patrick Barrett

Position title: Managing Director, Havens-Wright Center

Email: barrett@wisc.edu

Alyssa Ramírez Stege

Position title: Clinical Assistant Professor, Counseling Psychology

Email: ramirezstege@wisc.edu

Emeriti

Andrea-Teresa Arenas

Position title: Director, Office of Service Learning & Community Based Research

Jim Escalante

Position title: Professor,  Art

Francisco Scarano

Position title: Professor Ermeritus, Department of History

Consuelo López Springfield

Position title: Assistant Dean Emerita, Student Academic Affairs, College of Letters & Science

Steve Stern

Position title: Professor, History

Lynet Uttal

Position title: Professor,  Counseling Psychology