Chican@ Latin@ Studies Professors

Director

Armando Ibarra

Associate Professor, School for Workers, UW-Madison

aibarra@wisc.edu

608 262-9545

An Associate Professor with the School for Workers, Armando Ibarra holds a BA in Sociology and Spanish, as well as a Master’s in Public Administration, and a PhD in Political Science from the University of California, Irvine. Armando joined the School for Workers faculty in January 2011. Dr. Ibarra has extensive and diverse teaching, research and organizing experience. His research and fields of specialization are Chicano/a Latino/a working communities, adult education on issues of diversity in the workplace, international labor migration, leadership development, organizing workplaces, and applied research. He has taught for the CLS Program since 2011 and held the Director position since 2018.  For more information, see his website.

Faculty

Falina Enriquez

Assistant Professor,  Anthropology

fenriquez2@wisc.edu

Alberta M. Gloria

Professor, Counseling Psychology

amgloria@wisc.edu

Mary Louise Gomez

Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

mlgomez@wisc.edu

Paola Hernandez

Professor, Spanish & Portuguese

pshernandez@wisc.edu

Michael Light

Associate Professor, Sociology and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

mlight@ssc.wisc.edu

Lori Lopez

Associate Professor, Communication Arts

lklopez@wisc.edu

(608) 265-0069

Benjamin Marquez

Professor, Political Science

bmarquez@wisc.edu

Rubén Medina

Professor, Spanish & Portuguese

rmedina@wisc.edu

Almita Miranda

Assistant Professor, Geography

aamiranda@wisc.edu

Alfonso Morales

Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, Planning & Landscape Architecture

morales1@wisc.edu

Mariana Pacheco

Associate Professor,  Curriculum & Instruction

mariana.pacheco@wisc.edu

Steve Quintana

Professor, Counseling Psychology

stephen.quintana@wisc.edu

Carolina Sarmiento

Assistant Professor, Civil Society & Community Studies, School of Human Ecology

carolina.sarmiento@wisc.edu

Revel Sims

Assistant Professor, Planning and Landscape Architecture and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

revel.sims@wisc.edu

Lynet Uttal

Professor,  Counseling Psychology

Kate Vieira

Professor,  Curriculum and Instruction, Susan J. Cellmer Distinguished Chair in Literacy

Juan E. Zalapa

Associate Professor,  Horticulture

jezalapa@wisc.edu

Emeritus

Andrea-Teresa Arenas

Director, Office of Service Learning & Community Based Research

Jim Escalante

Professor,  Art

Francisco Scarano

Professor Ermeritus, Department of History

Consuelo López Springfield

Assistant Dean Emerita, Student Academic Affairs, College of Letters & Science