Chican@ Latin@ Studies Professors

Director

Armando Ibarra

Position title: Associate Professor, School for Workers, UW-Madison

Email: aibarra@wisc.edu

Phone: 608 262-9545

An Associate Professor with the School for Workers, Armando Ibarra holds a BA in Sociology and Spanish, as well as a Master’s in Public Administration, and a PhD in Political Science from the University of California, Irvine. Armando joined the School for Workers faculty in January 2011. Dr. Ibarra has extensive and diverse teaching, research and organizing experience. His research and fields of specialization are Chicano/a Latino/a working communities, adult education on issues of diversity in the workplace, international labor migration, leadership development, organizing workplaces, and applied research. He has taught for the CLS Program since 2011 and held the Director position since 2018.  For more information, see his website.

Faculty

Erin Barbato

Position title: Clinical Associate Professor of Law. Director, Immigrant Justice Clinic

Email: ekmurphy@wisc.edu

Theresa Delgadillo

Position title: Professor, English and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: tdelgadillo@wisc.edu

Falina Enriquez

Position title: Assistant Professor,  Anthropology

Email: fenriquez2@wisc.edu

Alberta M. Gloria

Position title: Professor, Counseling Psychology

Email: amgloria@wisc.edu

Mary Louise Gomez

Position title: Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

Email: mlgomez@wisc.edu

Paola Hernandez

Position title: Professor, Spanish & Portuguese

Email: pshernandez@wisc.edu

Kathryn Kirchgasler

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: katie.kirchgasler@wisc.edu

Edna Ledesma

Position title: Assistant Professor, Planning & Landscape Architecture

Email: eledesma@wisc.edu

Michael Light

Position title: Associate Professor, Sociology and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: mlight@ssc.wisc.edu

Lori Lopez

Position title: Associate Professor, Communication Arts

Email: lklopez@wisc.edu

Benjamin Marquez

Position title: Professor, Political Science

Email: bmarquez@wisc.edu

Sara McKinnon

Position title: Associate Professor, Communication Arts

Email: smckinnon@wisc.edu

Rubén Medina

Position title: Professor, Spanish & Portuguese and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: rmedina@wisc.edu

Almita Miranda

Position title: Assistant Professor, Geography and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: aamiranda@wisc.edu

Alfonso Morales

Position title: Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, Planning & Landscape Architecture

Email: morales1@wisc.edu

Mariana Pacheco

Position title: Associate Professor,  Curriculum & Instruction

Email: mariana.pacheco@wisc.edu

Steve Quintana

Position title: Professor, Counseling Psychology

Email: stephen.quintana@wisc.edu

Marla Ramírez

Position title: Assistant Professor, History and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: ramireztahua@wisc.edu

Diana Rodríguez-Gómez

Position title: Assistant Professor, Educational Policy Studies

Email: drodriguezgo@wisc.edu

Diego Román

Position title: Assistant Professor, Curriculum and Instruction

Email: diego.roman@wisc.edu

Carolina Sarmiento

Position title: Assistant Professor, Civil Society & Community Studies, School of Human Ecology

Email: carolina.sarmiento@wisc.edu

Revel Sims

Position title: Assistant Professor, Planning and Landscape Architecture and Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: revel.sims@wisc.edu

Kate Vieira

Position title: Professor,  Curriculum and Instruction, Susan J. Cellmer Distinguished Chair in Literacy

Email: kevieira@wisc.edu

Juan E. Zalapa

Position title: Associate Professor,  Horticulture

Email: jezalapa@wisc.edu

Instructors

Megan Bailon

Position title: Lecturer-SA

Email: bailon@wisc.edu

José Villagrán

Position title: Lecturer in Chican@ & Latin@ Studies

Email: jgvillagran@wisc.edu

Emeritus

Andrea-Teresa Arenas

Position title: Director, Office of Service Learning & Community Based Research

Jim Escalante

Position title: Professor,  Art

Francisco Scarano

Position title: Professor Ermeritus, Department of History

Consuelo López Springfield

Position title: Assistant Dean Emerita, Student Academic Affairs, College of Letters & Science

Steve Stern

Position title: Professor, History

Lynet Uttal

Position title: Professor,  Counseling Psychology