Kate Vieira Wins 2023 Kay W. Levin Award for Short Nonfiction

CLS affiliate faculty member Kate Vieira is this year’s winner of the Kay W. Levin Award for Short Nonfiction from the Art+Literature Laboratory for an essay titled “Someone Else’s Language” that was published in Guernica Magazine.  The essay is a meditation on language and culture drawn from Prof. Vieira’s experiences as a Peace Corps volunteer in Latvia after the fall of the USSR.  The Wisconsin Writers Awards was established in 1964 and is Wisconsin’s longest-running literary award for published work. The eight awards include four awards for books, three awards for short form works including short stories, poetry, and nonfiction, and one special prize for writing by a Wisconsin high school student. The awards celebrate works published in 2022 by writers currently residing in or having lived for a significant period of time in Wisconsin.